New York State of Mind

12 Sep

Life update alert!

Remember that fancy schmancy, practically perfect super exciting job I told you about? Well, its so fancy that I need security clearance for it (aka they need to make sure I’m not a crazy person or a criminal). That means that it’s going to take a couple of weeks before I get to start actually working. I spent a while trying to decide what I should do with this time. Continue funemployment [which actually stops being fun when you run out of money]? Try to find a part time job? Join a traveling circus?

It just so happened that all if this coincided with the end of my lease. I had originally decided if I couldn’t find a job by the end of my lease I was going to head back to good ol’ NYC, camp out on my parents’ couch and figure out what to do next. But now, I HAVE a job – just no money and no start date. As much as I really like LA and I’m really excited that I’m going to be working here, I still really wanted to go home for a little. I haven’t been back to NY since March which seems like forever ago.

So that’s what I’m doing! I packed up my apt last week, moved everything into my friend’s garage and myself onto her couch. On Friday, I’m leaving on a jet plane and heading back to the concrete jungle where dreams are made of. How long am I staying? Not quite sure. Some time between a week and Long Beach, depending on when my clearance comes through. While I’m there I’ll be running, reading, eating, sleeping and enjoying actual seasons – we don’t really get “fall” here.

And there you have my very exciting life update! Anyone in NY wanna play while I’m on the East Coast? Any awesome running routes I need to try?

Leave a Reply

