Let the Taper Begin …. Again!

20 Oct

I finished my final “long” long run of the training cycle last weekend. 20 miles miles in a little under 3:40 which should put me nicely on pace for a sub-5 hour (I really just want to finish, let’s not kid ourselves).

Starting my second round of tapering in the same training cycle is a weird feeling. I’ve already experienced the taper tantrums once and to be honest, I’m not looking forward to another couple of anxious weeks where all I do is worry about whether I’m going to be able to finish. I’m still not entirely convinced I can run a marathon – me, the girl who used to make up every excuse in the book to get out of gym class, who was the only girl in my sorority who didn’t love the gym. If the me from 10, even 5 years ago could see me now, I’m pretty sure she wouldn’t recognize herself.

The only good thing about doing this a second time is that I know what to expect. I know the little voices in my head and I know what they’re going to say. I just have to stay positive, trust in my training to get me to mile 20 and trust the adrenaline to get me through the last 6.2 miles.

And if I hate it, I never have to do it again, right? … Right?

One Response to “Let the Taper Begin …. Again!”

  1. Emily October 21, 2011 at 4:39 am #

    I’m running nyc too – and it’s my first marathon – so you definitely won’t be the last one out there! You do amazing – just trust your training and enjoy the experience!! (my goal is just to finish too, and hopefully under 6 hours!) Good luck!!!!

Leave a Reply

