Everyone Else Is Doing It … Operation Jack 6 Hour Challenge “Race” Recap

31 Oct

Let it be known that I had no intention of running a race this weekend. None at all. In fact, I had no intention of doing anything that wasn’t casually work my way through my last long run before NYC and then napping. But at the beginning of last week, some sassy lady friends peer pressured me on twitter to run in the Richard Leary 6-Hour Challenge this weekend. I am such a sucker for friends and sunshine and shiny medals so, obviously, I was in.

Operation Jack is a pretty amazing organization and if I am seriously considering running the Operation Jack 1/2 Marathon as a satellite race this year.  The idea behind the 6 Hour Challenge was to run as many laps as possible around a 1.09 mile loop in 6 hours. Whoever ran the most loops won. Now, obviously, I had no intention of winning. I had every intention of running my 8ish miles with friends and snacks. I was supposed to get down to Irvine at around 7:30 am but, well, Saturday night happened and I rolled up around 10. By the time I got there, Heather and Cha Cha were just about finished with their laps. I started running and Sarah caught up with me. We ran a lap together and chatted about NYC and life. Second time ever running with someone and it was super speed demon Sarah. Excellent.

After we all finished our laps (Heather, Sarah and Cha Cha all KILLED double digit runs), we sat on a blanket in the sunshine and watched the other runners demolish their laps. We chatted about things Heather finds creepy (everything) and I discovered Cha Cha and I can never watch sports together. It’s cool.

sarah took a picture. i'm a really bad blogger, so i'm stealing hers.

 About the actual run … well, it wasn’t good. It wasn’t bad, it just wasn’t good. It felt really hard. Way harder than 7.63 miles should have. That made me really uncomfortable about next [or this? oh gosh, it’s this weekend isn’t it] weekend. There were some weird things going on with my hamstrings. Not pain exactly, but it didn’t feel good. My loops alternated between 10:30 and 9:45. The 9:45 loops felt great. The 10:30 loops felt like crap. This is almost definitely all in my  head. I’ve had the taper tantrums like crazy. I know I have to trust my training and that I’m ready for this. I just wish my legs would remember that …

Even with a crappy run, though, Sunday was absolutely amazing. It was a really well run race put on for a great cause [both Autism research and the Tragedy Assistance Program for Survivors]. But most importantly, the company was great. Those Ragnar ladies, they’re pretty awesome =)

One Response to “Everyone Else Is Doing It … Operation Jack 6 Hour Challenge “Race” Recap”

  1. Sarah OUaL October 31, 2011 at 8:42 pm #

    Youre going to have such an incredible time at NYC! Don’t let the taper crazies suck any of the amazement out of this race for you. Soak it all in – there will be plenty of other races to stress about 🙂

Leave a Reply

