NYCM Goals [spoiler: Don’t Die.]

5 Nov

I can’t believe I’m running a marathon tomorrow.

I can’t believe I’m running THE New York City Marathon tomorrow.

these are all over the city and i love them

The whole thing is completely mind-boggling. I remember watching the marathon with my family growing up. We’d get hot chocolate and set up along 4th Ave. near BAM and watch for hours. I never in a million years believed that one day I’d be one of the runners. In the last year I’ve run 3 half marathons, lost a boyfriend, graduated from law school, took the bar and gained some amazing friends. Thank you, thank you, thank you to everyone who’s been there for me these past few months – you’ve listened to me when I freaked out, let me wear slippers to bars when my feet hurt too much after a long run and always reminded me that I CAN do this.

Ok, Sapfest 2011 over. Let’s get down to the fun stuff.

welcome to the ing nyc marathon!

Last night, my sister and I headed over to the expo. Because I’m super shady, I wasn’t picking up my bib but I really wanted to walk around and take in the sights and the feel and the experience! I may or may not have bought some “hell, yes, I ran a marathon” gear [including a possibly premature 26.2 bumper sticker].

After dinner, I picked up a pizza and some wine. My sister and brother in law came over and helped make some sassy signs. My whole family is going to be spread out along the course holding sassy signs. My sister made sure to make signs that were geared towards me and signs that were geared towards all of the runners. I’m so excited to see them along the course!

my doofy brother in law. he did not believe this picture would be on the internest. sucker.

And now, drumroll please, my goals for my very first every marathon!

  • Goal A: Enjoy myself! – This is my first marathon in my home town. I know every inch of this course [ask me about the time I got lost and just kept going over the Willis Ave. Bridge for an hour]. I don’t want my family to see me suffering or in pain or miserable. I don’t want to hate this experience and never want to do it again [especially because I’ve already registered for my second marathon … whoops!]. So I want to enjoy it! I’m going to take my time, soak it all in and just smile! (Thanks for the advice, Melissa!!)
  • Goal B: Finish in under 5 hours – This is a super distant second goal. I think my training has prepared me to finish in under 5 hours but if, for any reason at all, this doesn’t feel attainable, then I’m chucking it out the window. The course limit is something like 9 hours, and if it takes me 9 hours to finish, that’s what I’m going to do.

Good luck to everyone running tomorrow!

And a special good luck to #teamawesome running the Athleta Iron Girl tomorrow! Kick ass and take names, ladies!

3 Responses to “NYCM Goals [spoiler: Don’t Die.]”

  1. Emily November 5, 2011 at 11:58 am #

    GOOD LUCK!!!!!! YOU WILL DO AWESOME!

  2. XLMIC November 5, 2011 at 5:20 pm #

    You WILL have a great time! And you are going to have a great run 🙂

  3. hauterunningmama November 5, 2011 at 5:53 pm #

    Go get it girl! You are going to do great!! HAVE FUN!!!

Leave a Reply

